Zayed University International Conference

Useful Sites for K-12 Standards in Education

Curriculum and Standards Framework on-line (Victorian Education Department)
Excellent site that allows easy access to the Curriculum Standards Framework for each curriculum area with an excellent navigation guide to the learning outcomes and indicators for each of the six levels. It also allows you to access the curriculum focus and learning outcomes and indicators for each strand within each curriculum area.

Victorian Curriculum and Assessment Authority
This authority is responsible for the Curriculum and Standards Framework, the delivery of the Victorian Certificate of Education, and the conduct of statewide testing.

Victorian Department of Education Resources
Sofweb is a web site which supports education information and resource needs in Victoria. It is a site where teachers, students, teachers and parents can access information and resources to assist them in their educational mission.

New South Wales Board of Studies
Contains details of syllabus frameworks for I-6 and 7-10 Year levels in key learning areas as well as details of educational resources for teachers and students. Syllabuses use an outcomes based approach and standards-referenced assessment.

Queensland School Curriculum Council
Lists the curriculum frameworks for the eight key learning areas for pre-school to Year 10. It explains the outcomes approach to curriculum development and identifies key resources and support materials available to teachers.

Western Australia Outcomes and Standards Framework
Lists the outcomes and framework statements for the eight key learning areas.


  • Canada

    General Sites
Ontario Curriculum and Policy Documents (Ontario Ministry of Education and Training)
Covers a range of subject curriculum frameworks for elementary and secondary levels. It includes a number of exemplars for particular subjects and year levels.

British Columbia Ministry of Education Curriculum Branch
Provides prescribed learning outcomes for all subject areas from K-12. Outcomes are grouped for each subject level for K-7, 8-10, and 11-12.

Saskatchewan Education, The Evergreen Curriculum
Outlines the core policy and support documents for the Evergreen Curriculum and provides a subject or grade level access to the curriculum frameworks offered. It also provides detailed resource lists and exemplars.


  • New Zealand

General Sites

Curriculum, Teaching and the National Certificate of Educational Achievement (New Zealand Ministry of Education)
Includes the learning areas for each subject and a clear indication of the Ministry’s expectations for students’ achievement for year levels 1-13.

New Zealand Qualifications Authority
Coordinates qualifications in secondary schools and in post-school education ensuring standards are met.


  • United Kingdom

General Sites

United Kingdom National Curriculum Online
This site is described as the definitive curriculum site for teachers. It allows teachers to access the ten National Curriculum subjects where teachers can view the National Curriculum Statements for Key Stage 1 (Years 1-2), Key Stage 2 (Years 3-6), and Key Stage 3 (Years 7-9). It also includes high quality teaching resources.

United Kingdom Qualifications and Curriculum Authority
This authority is responsible for monitoring and assessing standards in education.


  • United States

General Sites

Developing Educational Standards
Annotated list of K-12 sites for each subject area classified by subject and by state. National organizations with responsibility for standards in education including teachers and teacher education are also listed.

Center for Research on Evaluation, Standards, and Student Reporting (CRESST)
This site contains research on K-12 educational testing with regard to the quality of alternative testing techniques and their use and their link to curriculum standards.

Oregon Proficiency-based Admission Standards System (PASS)
This is a university-based set of content standards for entry in the Oregon University System. It provides a list of standards, performance indicators and resources in six academic content areas- English, Math, Science, Social Science, Visual and Performing Arts, and Second Languages.

California Curriculum Frameworks and Instructional Resources
Contains standards frameworks for each subject area K-12. Includes instructional support materials and assessment information.

English/Language Arts

National Council or Teachers of English/International Reading Association
Lists twelve standards for English/Language Arts as part of a book on standards. Teachers can access resources applicable to elementary, middle, secondary and college curricula.


National Council of Teachers of Mathematics
Outlines principles and standards for math K-12, divided into four sections (K-2, 3-5, 6-8, and 9-12). Includes a range of support material including lesson plans.


National Science Teachers’ Association
Provides a teacher resource base linked to the development of standards for science.

National Science Education Standards (National Academy of Sciences)
his on-line booklet provides an overview of Science standards, identifies key standards, and links these to content standards, which are grouped in levels from K-4, 5-8, and 9-12. Resources and assessment ideas are also included.

Benchmarks for Science Literacy (American Association for the Advancement of Science)
Identifies benchmarks for a number of strands in Science, as well as links to math and technology and how these three subjects can be integrated.


Standards for Technological Literacy (International Technology Education Association)
This report details twenty standards for technological literacy along with resources that support these standards.

National Educational Technology Standards Project (International Society for Technology in Education)
his site outlines a set of technology standards for students, teachers and teacher preparation programs.  The standards for students indicate levels of development and link resources utilizing technology to the different subject areas and year levels.

Social Science

Center for Civic Education
Lists the National Standards for Civics and government. It includes a teacher resource section.

National Council for the Social Studies
The site contains standard and position statements for learning and teaching. These standards are set out in a publication entitled “Expectations of Excellence: Curriculum Standards for Social Studies”.

Art and Music

National Arts Education Association
Provides a number of publications for teachers that focus on standards. These include “Purposes, Principles, and Standards for School Art Education” and “The National Visual Arts Standards.”

Health and Physical Education

National Standards for Sport and Physical Education (National Association for Sport and Physical Education)
Contains national standards for physical education, athletic coaches, beginning physical education teachers, and professional preparation in exercise science.

Foreign Languages/ESL

Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages
Lists publications and products for teachers that focus on standards for P-12 students. These include “ESL Standards for Pre-K-12 Students” which can be read online, and a series of publications that focus on integrating the ESL standards into classroom practice for P-2, 3-5, 6-8, 9-12 year level students.

Hamdan Award for Academic Excellence
Zayed University

College of Education  |  ZU Home  |  Search           © Zayed University 2002